Showing Collections: 1 - 12 of 12
B. Davenport & Co. Ledger
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame20
Scope and Contents
Ledger, 1841-1861, of B. Davenport & Co., merchants, of Williamsburg, Va. which includes accounts, 1860, with the College of William and Mary and which was used as a scrapbook, 1892-1905, for newspaper clippings of poems and articles; Christmas cards; valentines; advertisements; cigarette cards; and seed catalog covers.
Dates:
1841-1861
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Bozarth Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2003.13
Scope and Contents
Business and family papers of the Bozarth family. Acc. 2003.13 Scrapbook of Mary Hockaday Bozarth, Worthy Grand Matron of the Virginia Order of the Eastern Star with a list of Matrons and Patrons from 1941 to 1942 and certificates of membership for members of the Pocahontas Chapter 103 located in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1941. Other related items in the collection is a photograph of Eastern Star women on the way to Bermuda and the Proceedings of the Grand Chapter...
Dates:
1931-1985; Majority of material found in 1931-1962
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Bruton Parish Church Account Book
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ac18
Scope and Contents
Account book, 1832-1838, of [Bruton Parish] Episcopal Church with J[acob] C. Sheldon, treasurer.
Dates:
1832-1838
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Henry Denison Cole Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents
Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F....
Dates:
1786-1939
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Galt Papers (I)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G13
Scope and Contents
Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other. The personal papers consist of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, school notes, financial papers, memoirs, and other material....
Dates:
1745-1892
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Hall Family Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...
Dates:
1810-2007 and undated
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Leonard Henley, Jr. Account Book
Collection
Identifier: SC 00935
Scope and Contents
2002.59 This collection is composed of an account book, 1872-1873, kept by Leonard Henley, Jr. a druggist in Williamsburg, Virginia. The account book includes names of residents who had accounts. Henley's store sold other merchandise as well as medicine. 160 p. ; 35 cm. x 21 cm. 2005.19 Leonard Henley artifacts. Civil War artifacts of Dr. Leonard Henley, of Williamsburg, including candle, shoulder strap, $5 Confederate bill, minie ball, Tredegar Iron Works...
Dates:
1872-1873
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
James City County and City of Williamsburg Personal Property Tax Books
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 68 J23
Scope and Contents
This collection is composed of 69 Property Tax Books and 3 Land Tax Books for James City County, Virginia, 1866-1948, and 42 Property Tax Books and 2 Land Tax Books for Williamsburg, Virginia, 1865-1927. Most years contain two sections within one book: one section for "White" property owners and one section for "Colored" property owners. Many of the James City County records have separate books or are divided into Powhatan, Jamestown and Stone House districts. For the years...
Dates:
1865-1949
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Sheldon Business Papers and Accounts
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Sh4
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1826-1857, (including accounts and memorandum books) of various mercantile firms with which Jacob D. Sheldon was associated in Williamsburg, Virginia, such as Jacob Sheldon & Co.; Cole & Sheldon; Sheldon & Maupin; Peachy & Sheldon; Thomas G. Peachy & Co.; and W. W. Webb & Co. Also includes papers of Jacob C. Sheldon and of Roscow Cole. The collection includes accounts with professors and students and staff at William & Mary; with Eastern State Hospital;...
Dates:
1826-1857
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Southall Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 So8
Scope and Contents
Papers of the Southall family of Williamsburg, Va. including correspondence, 1828-1830, of Peyton Alexander Southall but mostly comprised of the legal correspondence, 1831-1851, of George Washington Southall and documents concerning lawsuits and civil proceedings in many Virginia counties and including account books, 1832-1846, of George Washington Southall. Prominent correspondents include Lemuel Jackson Bowden, Richard Coke, John Augustine Deneufville, Thomas Roderick Dew, George Frederick...
Dates:
1807-1904
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Vest and Hansford Ledger
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame120 Oversize
Scope and Contents
A business ledger kept from 1859-1861 by William W. Vest and Richard Hansford, merchants operating in Williamsburg, Virginia. Entries show Vest and Hansford's business dealings with the College of William & Mary and the Public Hospital.
Dates:
1859-1861
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Williamsburg Post Office Account Book
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Apo6 Oversize
Scope and Contents
Account book, 1873-1880, of registered letters sent and received from the Williamsburg Post Office, Williamsburg, Va. when N. D. Piggott was the postmaster.
Dates:
1873-1880
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center